The palace of the erstwhile Rajas of Kochi in the 19th century, this place has now been converted into a museum displaying a fine collection of articles used by the Rajas of Kochi besides many archaeological findings. It is located at Tripunithura, 6 km from the city.
Otherwise known as the Paradeshi Synagogue, it was was built in 1568 AD. The Great Scrolls of the Old Testment, the copper plates in which the grants of privilege made by the Cochin rulers were recorded and the exquisite Chinese hand-painted tiles are of interest here. One of the oldest synagogues in the world, it is a jewel of incomparable beauty with its brass columns, Belgian hanging lamps, and exquisite hand-painted, blue-and-white Chinese porcelain tiles of which no two are alike.It is open from 10.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs and 15.00 hrs to 17.00 hrs and is closed on Sundays and Jewish holidays.
It is the biggest ship building yard in , and is situated in the southern part of Ernakulam on the way to Willington Island . Set up with Japanese collaboration, this shipyard has a building dock for ships up to 85,000 DWT and a repair dock that can accommodate ships up to 1,00,000 DWT. Motilal Nehru, the first oil tanker made in India, was built here.
Mangalavana Bird Sanctuary
It is situated right in the heart of Kochi city and is the transit home of many exotic and rare varieties of migratory birds throughout the year. This gives visitors an opportunity to see migratory birds on the move and perhaps the opportunity to spot some that have flown all the way from the visitors homeland.
Also known as Dutch Palace , this structure was built by the Portuguese and presented to the Raja of Kochi in 1555 AD. It acquired the present name after 1663 when the Dutch carried out extensions and repairs in the palace, although they never resided here. Its interiors are decorated with murals from the Ramayana and there are some lively displays of royal costumes and palanquins. The place is open from 10.00 hrs to 17.00 hrs and is closed on Fridays and national holidays.
Palliport (Pallipuram) Fort
It was buiIt in 1503, and is the oldest European fort in . It is located outside the city limits on the northern end of the island.
Parur or Paravur
It is situated 35km north of Kochi ( Cochin ) and encapsulates the cultural and religious medley of God’s own country. There is a synagogue,a place of brahmins, a Syrian Orthodox Church, a Krishna temple, and a temple of Goddess Mookambica worth seeing here.
It is a man-made island created from the material dredged while deepening Kochin Port. Situated between the main land Ernakulam and the old town Mattancherry and separated by the backwaters, Willingdon Island is an important part of Kochi . The Government of Tourist Office, the Southern Naval Command Headquarters, the Seaport, Naval Airport , Railway terminus, Customs House, Cochin Port Office etc are all located in this island.
Vypeen and Gundu Islands
Ferries shuttle across the narrow strait from Fort Cochin to Vypeen Island where visitors can see a lighthouse at Ochunthuruth (open from 3 to 5pm daily), good beaches and the early 16th century Palliport Fort (open Thursdays). Gundu, the smallest island in the harbour, is close to Vypeen. It has a coir factory making doormats from coconut fibre worth stopping at too. Chitram Art Galley can be seen opposite Air , on M.G.Road, Ernakulam. This gallery regularly exhibits changing collections of paintings by local artists worth seeing. For more information call: 2351295.
Pareekshith Thampuran Museum
This sprawling, traditional Kerala style building previously called the Durbar Hall, houses 19th century oil paintings, a collection of old coins, sculptures and Mughal paintings. Its open Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 hrs to 16.30 hrs.
Museum of Kerala History
Situated at Edappally 10 km along the National highway from Ernakulam on the Alwaye route, it presents an hour-long light and sound spectacle of life-size sculptures in concrete, together with the background music and complemented with displays of the vastness and diversity of Keralas history over the centuries. Viewing times are from 10.00, 10.30, 11.00, 11.30 12.00, 14.00, 14.30, 15.00, 15.30, 16.00 and the place is closed on Mondays and Public holidays. Telephone:2558296 for more information. If you are travelling with children, they will thoroughly enjoy visiting this museum.